BIOGRAPHY

The pianist Paulo Navarro stands as a relevant figure of the musical scene in Colombia, which has transcended into different scenarios around the world through a genuine and personal performance approach, owning a refined sound, with sense of style and personality. 

He has performed recitals in Brazil, Costa Rica, Spain, France, Colombia, the United States, Germany and Italy, at important venues such as the Salle Cortot and the Eglise Saint-Merri in Paris, the Luis Ángel Arango concert hall of the Banco de la República in Bogotá, the National Museum of Colombia, Teatro Estudio of the Julio Mario Santo Domingo Library, the Katzin Concert Hall of Arizona State University, and Viernes de Musikeon series in Valencia (Spain), among others.

 

His interest in refining his piano technique has led him to participate in various international festivals and competitions, including L'auditorioum Campra in Les nuits Pianistiques d'Aix-en-Provence, the José Monleon Theater in Leganés (Spain), Sala dei Notari at Perugia MusicFest, the Bucaramanga International Piano Festival (Colombia), Mozart Concert Academy (Germany), Festival Eleazar du Carvalho (Brazil). He has been finalist of the International Piano Competition "María Clara Cullel" (Costa Rica), of the National Piano Competition (Colombia) and winner of the prize "Young Talents of Music" sponsored by the French Alliance. In these same spaces he had the opportunity to receive master classes with internationally acclaimed pianists such as Arie Vardi, Menahem Pressler, Ilana Vered, Harold Martina, Nicolas Stavy, Luiz Carlos de Moura Castro, Christopher Hinterhuber, Daniel Blumenthal and Cedric Tiberghien.

 

Paulo Navarro began his studies at an early age in Bucaramanga (Colombia), his hometown, with pianist Hortensia Galvis. He then began his university cycle at the EAFIT University in Medellín, where he obtained his degree as a musician with emphasis on piano with the highest recognition. There he was under the guidance of Claudio Suzin and the renowned Colombian pianist Blanca Uribe. In 2010 he migrates to the United States, with the support of the Colfuturo program in conjunction with a partial scholarship from Arizona State University, where he begins and culminates under the direction of pianist Dr. Baruch Meir his master's studies in Piano Performance. 

 

One of the most relevant aspects that have marked the career of pianist Navarro is his altruistic spirit, which he embraced at the beginning of his career and through this practice he has cemented art and music as a vehicle to support significant social projects in his region. In this way, he joined the Colombian Cardiovascular Foundation, offering with great success a solo recital at the age of 18 in the Luis A. Calvo Auditorium of the Industrial University of Santander. Later he joined the endeavours of the foundation KIWANIS International, where he managed to build up through his music the alimentary infrastructure for 300 children in the region. These efforts were publicly recognized, receiving in 2011 the distinction "Knight KIWANIS". He recently offered a recital at the historic Santander Theatre, in his hometown, which reopened its doors in 2019 after 30 years of inactivity, becoming the first Colombian pianist to offer a solo recital since its foundation in 1929. This event was for the benefit of the RECIENSA foundation, an entity that supports through science and technology the new generation of sportsmen in Santander. This initiative led him in 2017 to offer a benefit recital in Hong Kong City Hall, raising more than 30 thousand euros in aid for the Little Life Warriors Foundation and its fight against childhood cancer.

 

Between 2012 and 2015 he was based in Bogotá (Colombia), where he worked as a piano professor and collaborative pianist at the Universidad el Bosque, Universidad de los Andes and Universidad Antonio Nariño, while also pursuing an intense activity as a concert pianist, especially in chamber music, collaborating with various artists of national and international renown. This exploration has led him to continue his studies in this branch, moving in 2015 to Paris, where he culminated in 2017 advanced studies in chamber music and piano accompaniment at the Ecole Normale de Musique de Paris Alfred Cortot School. Subsequently, he began a new stage after his meeting with the French pianist Pascal Gallet, under his tutelage he was chosen for two consecutive years as the winner by unanimous decision with the congratulations of the jury of the degree competition at the Grand Prix and Excellence levels of the Conservatoire International de Musique de Paris.

 

Currently, Paulo Navarro alternates his artistic activities with pedagogy, linked to a private institution, as well as collaborative pianist at the Malakoff Conservatory in the Paris region. His first solo album will be recorded in the summer of 2020, including a variety of Romantic, Impressionist, and Latin American repertoire.

BIOGRAPHIE

Le pianiste Paulo Navarro se distingue comme une figure importante du panorama musical en Colombie, qui a réussi à transcender vers différentes scènes du monde grâce à un style d'interprétation personnel au son élaboré, avec un sens du style et une personnalité très marqués.
Il a donné des récitals au Brésil, au Costa Rica, en Espagne, en France, en Colombie, aux États-Unis, en Allemagne et en Italie, dans des espaces importants tels que la Salle Cortot et l'Église Saint-Merri à Paris, la salle de concert Luis Ángel Arango du Banco de la República à Bogota, le Musée National de Colombie, le Teatro Estudio de la Bibliothèque Julio Mario Santo Domingo, le Katzin Concert Hall de l'Arizona State University et la serie Viernes de Musikeon à Valence (Espagne), entre autres.
 
Son intérêt pour le perfectionnement de la technique pianistique l'a amené à participer à divers festivals et concours internationaux, dont L'auditorioum Campra dans Les nuits Pianistiques d'Aix-en-Provence, le théâtre José Monleon à Leganés (Espagne), la Sala dei Notari dans le cadre du Perugia MusicFest, le Festival international de Piano de Bucaramanga (Colombie), Mozart Concert Academy (Allemagne), le Festival Eleazar du Carvalho (Brésil). Il a été finaliste du Concours International de Piano "María Clara Cullel" (Costa Rica), du Concours National de Piano (Colombie) et lauréat à l’unanimité de la convocation nationale "Jeunes Talents de la Musique" organisée par l'Alliance Française. Dans ces mêmes espaces, il a eu l'occasion de recevoir des master classes avec des pianistes de renommée internationale tels que Arie Vardi, Menahem Pressler, Ilana Vered, Harold Martina, Nicolas Stavy, Luiz Carlos de Moura Castro, Christopher Hinterhuber, Daniel Blumenthal et Cedric Tiberghien.
 
 
Paulo Navarro a commencé ses études à un jeune âge à Bucaramanga (Colombie), sa ville natale, avec la pianiste Hortensia Galvis. Il a ensuite poursuivi ses études universitaires à l'université EAFIT de Medellín, où il a obtenu son diplôme de musicien avec mention très bien pour le piano. Il y était sous les conseils de Claudio Suzin et de la célèbre pianiste colombienne Blanca Uribe. En 2010, il émigre aux États-Unis, grâce à l'aide du programme Colfuturo et à une bourse partielle de l'Université d'État de l'Arizona, où il commence et termine ses études de master en interprétation du piano sous la direction du pianiste Dr. Baruch Meir.
 
L'un des aspects les plus pertinents qui ont marqué la carrière du pianiste Navarro est son esprit altruiste. Il en prit conscience dès le début de sa carrière et cela lui a permis de consacrer l'art et la musique comme vecteur de soutien à d'importants projets sociaux dans sa région. Il a ainsi rejoint la Fondation Cardio-Vasculaire Colombienne, offrant avec grand succès un récital solo à l'âge de 18 ans dans l'Auditorium Luis A. Calvo de l'Université Industrielle de Santander. Plus tard, il a rejoint les efforts de la fondation KIWANIS International, où il a réussi à réunir les fonds pour l’installation de l'infrastructure alimentaire pour 300 enfants de la région. Ces efforts ont été publiquement reconnus, recevant en 2011 la distinction "Chevalier KIWANIS". Il a récemment donné un récital au théâtre historique Santander dans sa ville natale, qui a rouvert ses portes en 2019 après 30 ans d'inactivité, devenant ainsi le premier pianiste Colombien à offrir un récital solo depuis sa fondation en 1929. Cet événement a été organisé au profit de la fondation RECIENSA, une entité qui soutient par la science et la technologie la nouvelle génération de sportifs de Santander. Cette initiative l'a conduit également en 2017 à offrir un récital bénévole à Hong Kong City Hall, permettant de récolter plus de 30 000 euros au profit de la Foundation Little Life Warriors et de sa lutte contre le cancer des enfants.
 
Entre 2012 et 2015, il a vécu à Bogota (Colombie), où il a travaillé en tant que professeur de piano et pianiste collaborateur à La Universidad el Bosque, La Universidad de los Andes et La Universidad Antonio Nariño, tout en menant une intense activité de concertiste,
notamment en musique de chambre, en collaborant avec différents artistes de renommée nationale et internationale. Cette exploration l'a conduit à poursuivre ses études dans cette branche, en s'installant en 2015 à Paris, où il a abouti en 2017 des études supérieures de musique de chambre et d'accompagnement au piano à l'Ecole Normale de Musique de Paris Alfred Cortot. Plus tard, il entame une nouvelle étape après sa rencontre avec le pianiste Français Pascal Gallet. Sous sa tutelle, il est choisi comme lauréat par décision unanime avec les félicitations du jury du concours de diplôme dans le niveau Excellence du Conservatoire International de Musique de Paris. Il obtint également le niveau Grand Prix.
 
Actuellement, Paulo Navarro alterne ses activités artistiques avec l'enseignement, lié à une institution privée à Paris, ainsi que au conservatoire de Malakoff en tant que pianiste acompagnateur. Son premier album solo sera enregistré au cours de 2020. Il comprendra une variété de répertoires romantiques, impressionnistes et latino-américains.